Grading scales and sources
Check the named policy before using a percentage cutoff or grade-point scale for your class.
Published grading rules
Choose a policy that applies to your class. The percentage tables give letter cutoffs; the GPA tables give the points assigned to course grades.
Where these numbers came from
Each record links to the official policy and gives the date it was read. A publication or effective date is recorded only when the source supplies one. Missing dates and missing cutoffs are not inferred.
Downloads and updates
JSON and CSV downloads contain the published grading rules, not your calculator entries. Check the source date and the linked school policy before applying a rule to your class.
A cutoff looks different
Your instructor may choose a different scale. Use custom cutoffs for that class. If a preset differs from your current school policy, enter the current cutoffs or grade points in the calculator.
Find a published scale
6 published policies
Download all policy facts as JSON or percentage cutoffs as CSV. The CSV contains the four percent-to-letter scales below; the JSON also includes the two GPA-only policies.
NCES common US 4.0 scale
A common US high-school standardization scale; use a school's own scale when available.
Source read: . Publication or effective date: not supplied in this record.
NCES High School Transcript Study
| Letter | Minimum percent | Grade points |
|---|---|---|
| A | 90% | 4 |
| B | 80% | 3 |
| C | 70% | 2 |
| D | 60% | 1 |
| F | 0% | 0 |
Emmanuel College suggested undergraduate scale
Suggested undergraduate course scale published by Emmanuel College Registrar; instructors may use another scale.
Source read: . Publication or effective date: not supplied in this record.
| Letter | Minimum percent | Grade points |
|---|---|---|
| A | 93% | Not specified |
| A- | 90% | Not specified |
| B+ | 87% | Not specified |
| B | 83% | Not specified |
| B- | 80% | Not specified |
| C+ | 77% | Not specified |
| C | 73% | Not specified |
| C- | 70% | Not specified |
| D+ | 65% | Not specified |
| D | 60% | Not specified |
| F | 0% | Not specified |
The Ohio State University law scale
Law only, as stated by The Ohio State University Registrar transcript key.
No letter is assumed below the lowest published percentage.
Source read: . Publication or effective date: not supplied in this record.
| Letter | Minimum percent | Grade points |
|---|---|---|
| A | 93% | 4 |
| A- | 90% | 3.7 |
| B+ | 87% | 3.3 |
| B | 83% | 3 |
| B- | 80% | 2.7 |
| C+ | 77% | 2.3 |
| C | 70% | 2 |
| D | 65% | 1 |
| E | 60% | 0 |
University of Mount Saint Vincent graduate scale
Professional and graduate academic policy published by the University Registrar.
Source read: . Publication or effective date: not supplied in this record.
| Letter | Minimum percent | Grade points |
|---|---|---|
| A | 93% | 4 |
| A- | 90% | 3.67 |
| B+ | 87% | 3.33 |
| B | 83% | 3 |
| B- | 80% | 2.67 |
| C+ | 77% | 2.33 |
| C | 73% | 2 |
| C- | 70% | 1.67 |
| D+ | 67% | 1.33 |
| D | 60% | 1 |
| F | 0% | 0 |
UT Austin letter-grade points
Undergraduate letter-grade points. This is not a percent-to-letter scale. Select only courses that count toward your GPA.
Source read September 19, 2026. Catalog edition: 2026–2027. This record does not assign percentage cutoffs. UT Austin GPA computation.
| Grade | Points |
|---|---|
| A | 4 |
| A- | 3.67 |
| B+ | 3.33 |
| B | 3 |
| B- | 2.67 |
| C+ | 2.33 |
| C | 2 |
| C- | 1.67 |
| D+ | 1.33 |
| D | 1 |
| D- | 0.67 |
| F | 0 |
Undergraduate courses marked I, Q, W, X, S, U or CR are excluded by the cited policy. The calculator leaves inclusion under your control so other institutions' rules are not applied silently.
Chicago Public Schools grade values
High-school course levels as designated by CPS. Advanced includes eligible AP and IB courses; some IB courses are Honors. Select the course level on the school record. Exclude duplicate attempts except the highest grade.
Source read September 19, 2026. Policy effective September 1, 2013. CPS policy 605.13.
| Grade | Regular | Honors | Advanced | Significantly modified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | 4 | 5 | 6 | 2 |
| B | 3 | 4 | 5 | 2 |
| C | 2 | 3 | 4 | 1 |
| D | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| F | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Advanced includes eligible college-level AP and IB classes; some IB courses are Honors. The school catalog determines the level. The policy includes only the highest grade of duplicate course attempts. The tool requires you to choose which attempts to include.
Use the right rule
Apply percentage cutoffs in the grading scale calculator, college grade points in the GPA calculator, or course-level weights in the high-school GPA calculator.